Irvin Glassman Young Investigator Lecture

This award recognizes a young investigator within seven years of their Ph.D. (and before tenure if in a tenure-track faculty appointment). The awardee gives an invited lecture at the Eastern States Technical Meeting. 

Nominations open for 2020!

Nominations for the 6th Irvin Glassman Young Investigator Award and Lecture are requested by January 15, 2020 for the 2020 Spring Technical Meeting of the Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute to be held March 8-11, 2020 on the University of South Carolina campus in Columbia, SC.  Additional information on the meeting is available at


At the time of the nomination due date, nominees must be a young investigator within seven years (degree received after Jan. 15th 2013) of their Ph.D. and, for tenure-track faculty appointments, the nominee must be untenured by the time of application. Nominations and/or self-nominations should consist of a nomination letter and CV for the nominee highlighting their contributions, including publications, in the combustion field.  The nominee should be affiliated with an institution in the Eastern States at the time of the nomination.  The awardee will receive waived registration, a travel award of up to $1000 to attend the ESS meeting, and a $500 honorarium to give the Irvin Glassman Lecture as one of the plenary or invited topical talks. 


Please send nominations no later than January 15th, 2020 to the awards committee at c/o Wenting Sun.

Due January 15, 2020

Wenting Sun

The Effect of Ozone Addition on Combustion: What We Know and What We Don’t


Jacqueline O'Connor

Use of Advanced Fuel Injection Strategies for Emissions Reduction in Diesel Engines

Pennsylvania State University


Tanvir Farouk

Droplet Combustion: "Cool Flames" in Space? 

University of South Carolina 


Tianfeng Lu

Chemical Explosive Mode Analysis for Computational Flame Diagnostics with Detailed Chemical Kinetics

University of Connecticut


Please reload


George H. Markstein Best Paper Award

This award recognizes the best paper based on the final extended abstracts submitted to the Eastern States Technical Meeting. 


Miad Karimi, Bradley Ochs, Wenting Sun, and Devesh Ranjan
Georgia Institute of Technology

Measurement of Methane Autoignition Delays in a Shock Tube under Supercritical Carbon Dioxide Conditions


Sheng Yang, Abhishek Saha, Wenkai Liang, Fujia Wu and Chung K. Law
Princeton University

Extreme facilitation of flame propagation by turbulence through differential diffusion


Kathryn R. Gosselin, William F. Carnell, Jr., and Michael W. Renfro
University of Connecticut

Formaldehyde fluorescence as a marker for scalar dissipation through local extinction


Fujia Wu, Andrew P. Kelley and Chung K. Law
Princeton University

Laminar flame speeds of cyclohexane and mono-alkylated cyclohexanes at elevated pressures


Charles P. Fenimore Best Student Presentation

This award recognizes the best student presentation at the Eastern States Technical meeting based on nominations from session chairs. 


Jay A. Lefkowitz
Rowan University

Fuel Distillation Affects Spray Flame Blowout Thresholds

Advisor: Francis M. Haas


Lara Backer
Cornell University

Numerical investigation into the auto-ignition of a multicomponent fuel spray

Advisor: Perrine Pepiot


Jeffrey Santner
Princeton University

Evaluation of thermal radiation effects on apparent propagation rates of high pressure spherical flames

Advisor: Yiguang Ju


Nicole J. Labbe
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Reaction kinetics for TMEDA combustion with red fuming nitric acid

Advisor: Phillip R. Westmoreland, North Carolina State University