Welcome to The Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute, one of the largest sections in the Institute.

Twenty-two volunteers of the U.S. Sections of the Combustion Institute organized congressional visits on April 27, 2017, in Washington, DC.


September 01, 2019

2020 Spring Technical Meeting Announced

The next Technical Meeting of the Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute will be held on March 8-11, 2020, in Columbia, South Carolina. The meeting is hosted by The University of South Carolina. 

The event will consist of an opening reception, plenary seminars, technical talks, and a banquet event.

Travel support is available for student presenters.

Corona Virus Update! see the Conferences page

January 28, 2019

Student Travel Support to the 11th US National Combustion Meeting

The Eastern States Section of the Combustion Institute (ESSCI) is pleased to provide financial travel support to students from ESSCI institutions who will be delivering oral presentations at the 11th U.S. National Combustion Meeting to be held in Pasadena, CA beginning March 24, 2019 and concluding March 27, 2019. The anticipated level of support is up to $250 per award, but this could be changed depending on the number of applicants.

July 11, 2018

2018 Best Paper and Best Student Presentation awards announced!

The winners of the 2018 Markstein Best Paper and Fenimore Best Student Presentation awards for the 2018 Technical Meeting of the ESSCI at Penn State have been announced.

  • The George H. Markstein Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper based on the final extended abstracts submitted to the Eastern States Technical Meeting and goes to Miad Karimi, Bradley Ochs, Wenting Sun, and Devesh Ranjan, from Georgia Institute of Technology, for their paper "Measurement of Methane Autoignition Delays in a Shock Tube under Supercritical Carbon Dioxide Conditions"

  • The Charles P. Fenimore Best Student Presentation award recognizes the best student presentation at the Eastern States Technical meeting based on nominations from session chairs, and goes to Jay A. Lefkowitz (advised by Francis M. Haas) from Rowan University for their presentation "Fuel Distillation Affects Spray Flame Blowout Thresholds"

The awards will be presented at the next US National Meeting in March 2019.

July 29, 2018

The 11th National Combustion Meeting will be held in the spring of 2019, March 24–27, at CalTech in Pasadena, CA

January 31, 2018

Wenting Sun wins the 2018 Glassman Award

Dr. Sun will present the Glassman Lecture at the upcoming ESSCI Spring Technical Meeting with a talk entitled: "The Effect of Ozone Addition on Combustion: what we know and what we don't"

Please reload